DBX 224 Type II encoder/decoder need help using it

pioneernut

I need help
Does anyone have any tips on using a DBX 224 Type II decoder on a RTR. I've been wanting to try using this on new recordings to see what kind of performance it can do, but I'm not sure on the best procedure for recording and for setting the record and playback adjustment pots on the back. Haven't found any manuals for it either. The thing is capable of simulatnious record and playback so it should be easier to use with the 3 head RTR I've got.

Thanks, Mike

I've been using dbx on my R2Rs for more than 20 years. There really isn't much to it. DBX doesn't require elaborate setup procedures and calibration the way than all of the Dolbys do.

Just connect your tape deck to the appropriate connections, and your amp to the appropriate connections, plug it in, and turn it on.

There are some level controls on the back, but their settings really only effect the level matching from input to output, and visa-versa, so they truly are not crucial at all. If you had them all set about three-quaters of the way up, they should be perfectly fine. However, if after doing this you find that the Input levels are too low, then turn-up the input. And if the outpust are too low, then turn them up, or visa versa.

As to recordling levels, you will want to turn these down quite a bit from what you are proabably used to recording at without NR. If recording at 3.75 ips, never drive them above about -6dB on the peaks. If you are running at 7.5, Never go above about -3dB. And is perfectly fine to remain well below these levels. If you violate these rules, be prepared to pay for it when your high-end saturates because of the extra 10dB DBX HF boost that occurs durring recording with dbx.