dbx driverack. Anyone here knowledgeable about These?

bryans12v

Marantz / Altec Junkie
Ive always wanted to attempt an active biamp setup. This is my first attempt and want to make sure I do it right but need some general advice.

I recently picked up the dbx driverack pa2 and all the needed cabling. I assume the chain would go from souce>preamp>driverack>power amps>speakers.

My question is in regards to the power amps. In the dbx setup wizard it requests the power amps be attenuated to just before clipping with the pink noise test within the setup wizard. Problem is, my power amps do not have gain controls. Would I just use the volume on my preamp here? I' totally new to this stuff and could use any guidance!

My question is in regards to the power amps. In the dbx setup wizard it requests the power amps be attenuated to just before clipping with the pink noise test within the setup wizard. Problem is, my power amps do not have gain controls. Would I just use the volume on my preamp here? I' totally new to this stuff and could use any guidance!

I wouldn't worry about it. It is basically a suggested way to set up a system aiding in getting the least amount of noise and hiss but maximum performance at any listening level. Other things like speaker ratings and distortion levels might come into play also depending on your system.

Not being familiar with your equipment, I can only surmise that if your preamp is quiet to begin with, you probably won't have any problems.

Don't worry about it. It is only a manual suggested way to set up a system to help aid in getting the least amount of noise and hiss but maximum performance at any listening level. Other things like speaker ratings and distortion levels might come into play also depending on your system.

Not being familiar with your equipment, I can only surmise that if your preamp is quiet to begin with, you probably won't have any problems.

That' great news cademan! Thank you so much!