DC Offset ?

Cosmic Charlie

Hi, to all. I have a question about DC offset. I aquired a Pioneer SX-580, that has no sound, I replaced the Darlington powerpacs, hoping they were bad, still no sound. I cleaned all the pots and switches with deoxit, still no sound. All the lights iluminate, while turning the tuning knob the tuning meter moves, the stereo indicator lamp lights, I check DC offset with the A B speaker buttons in I get 0mA, with the buttons not depressed I get around -1.4 to -1.8, isn't that the opposit of what I should be getting? I thought I should get 0 with buttons not depressed and a reading when the buttons are pushed. I purchased a service manual, but I'm not real sure about reading it properly, as I am new at electronics, but want to learn. I can read plumbing and carpentry prints, but I'm nearly clueless with the electronics. I have been studing the schematics, and am begining to decipher some things. I've checked voltages at various spots on the board, most are right on some are close some are way off. I don't know how close is close enough + or - (tolerance). Can someone advise me where to look or where to start. I know my receiver is a low model, but it is probably a good one to learn on. I am willing to take all suggestions and ideas happily. If anyone has experence with this model or others, I would love to hear from you. I'm new to AK but have learned just from searching and reading the threads from the excellent folks that frequent AK. Thanks, any ideas CC

bias adjustment?

Does the service manual describe how to check and adjust bias?

Pretty basic stuff, but I'd start there.

Check all supply voltages first!! That means the regulated and unregulated voltages. Are they good?

If you don't have the voltages coming from the supplies, all bets are off.