Denon Cartridge for Rega RP6

CDinMB

I bought an RP6 and installed a Denon DL110 but after listening for a while am finding it might not be the best match for the tonearm. I am looking for a cart in the 400usd or less range. I was considering the DL103 but was concerned about compliance and tracking force. I also am looking at the DL301 mk 2, which has a higher compliance and should work better with the Rega. I have to admit I am new to matching cartridges to tonearms and finding the best match. I researched some of the cartridge resonance charts and specs for these carts. I am not sure I am drawing the right conclusions and don't want to purchase another mistake. I listen to classic rock, jazz, blues, and classical. I play guitar and enjoy guitar and piano music. Any suggestions on the carts mentioned or alternatives in the price range?

Thanks!
Carmen

Last edited:
I have had a lot of experience of Rega decks and their tonearms. Denon and Audio Technica cartridges are both excellent compliance matches. Apart from the Denon DL-S1 and the Audio Technica Art-1, both of which I have, the best in their range IMO are the DL304 and the AT-OC09, and the latter can be found in its last model at a discounted price. The former is quite difficult to get hold of but worthwhile with a beautifully detailed treble without harshness.

https://www.lpgear.com/product/ATOC9III.html
This is slightly over budget but the previous model (ii) can sometimes be found for under your budget.

Do you have the 2mm or 4mm spacers under the tonearm? Non-Rega cartridges are generally taller, and need the spacers to get VTA right. The DL-110 might sound better than you are hearing...

I really liked the OC9/II when I had it on my modded RB250. Very good synergy, but this might've had as much to do with the SUT I was using. Very clean and clear, natural, not bass shy at all.