Denon PMA-900v Integrated Amp questions

djv8ga

I have not seen another PMA-900V for sale/auction since I bought my US version several months ago. I'm curious why. Did they not sell well? Were they overrated and too expensive? I was thinking they might not have sold well because they didn't have all the flash (lights, etc.) of the others during the 80's. Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Got a pic. I love the Denon stuff, precisely because they are a bit understated in looks and way under rated in performance.

Pics

I hope these pictures work. I'm new to this.

Attachments

• 933e_12.jpg
    933e_12.jpg
    23 KB · Views: 226
  • 2c3d_12.jpg
    2c3d_12.jpg
    49.3 KB · Views: 287
  • c508_12.jpg
    c508_12.jpg
    46.3 KB · Views: 222
  • d76b_12.jpg
    d76b_12.jpg
    23.2 KB · Views: 250
Well it's nice, but just not enough flash. :D

How does it sound. I have a PMA-920 that is my favorite unit by far. Just oodles of power and drives any speaker and multiples easily. I have it hooked to my Mission 770 Freedoms and it is incredible.

Runs great. It flat out smokes a kenwood (same era) I had that was rated the same as far as watts. I'm not experienced enough to rate all the sound aspects though. I wish I could get a good picture of the face. The black is tough.

I've got a PMA-520 that was given to me and I am listening to it right now. I just put it in as part of the bedroom stereo, my wife is out right now, and hooked it up to a set of KLH 20 Plus speakers. I have to say it is plain simple and sounds great. I would gladly accept any of it's big brothers knowing that they could only be better.

I like the simple clean look.

I went to buy a Yamaha receiver in November of 1981.
I ended up buying the $100 more Denon DRA-600 receiver (60wpc) instead.
The Denon was much warmer sounding (and less sterile) than the Yamaha IMO.
My 17 year-old daughter is still using it.....driving a pair of Mission 761i speakers.

Steve