Diagnosing crackle on AU-101

scytale

I've had a Sansui AU-101 for 15 years - it's given great service. Over the last few months it has developed a really nastty intermittent crackling in the right channel. Using the pots also caused a low crackle but that was tolerable.

I've minimal electronics experience but I'm a technician by trade so I figured it was time to learn some new stuff. I bought the service manual from Rick at http://www.stereomanuals.com and got down to some study.

After several weeks of reading up - well over half of it on audiokarma - I had built up enough confidence to decide that the best start was to recap the amp.
I replaced 46 odd electrolytic capacitors, using Panasonic FM/FC. I also took out the pots, opened them up, cleaned and reassembled them.

When I put the amp back together again I found to my astonishment that a) it switched on b) it emitted no smoke c) it actually worked. Furthermore the "charming" low crackle that used to accompany any use of the bass/treble/volume controls was now gone. I felt pretty damn good.
But then after half an hour of use the nasty crackle returned. That burst my bubble pretty quick.

The symptoms are:
- right channel only
- tends to happen after 15-20 minutes of playing music. Can come and go but with time is happening more and more often.
- the bass, treble and balance controls all affect the crackle. i.e. turning the balance to the left makes it go away. Turning up bass/treble make it sound more boomy/trebly.
- the loudness switch, input selector and tape/monitor switch don't affect it - it crackles no matter if I'm playing a record, CD or whatever.
- the volume control does not affect the volume of the crackle. Sometimes, however, turning the volume control seems to start/stop the crackling. Only sometimes.

So here's what I need advice on:

I reckon that the controls that don't affect the crackle must be before the faulty component in the signal path.