Difference between Stanton 500 MKII and Stanton 500 AL? - Response mV

Jg014

Hello friends, good day. In these last days he was interested in buying a Stanton cartridge line 500, but I realized that there are several models, including the 'MKII' and 'AL'. I wanted to know which is the best model of the 500 line, as this model cartridge cartridges labeled it as 'hi fi' because of its sound quality.

Furthermore I would also like to know where I can find the technical specifications of each model cartridge, as I have understood that the model '500 AL' delivery 6 mV response, compared to the MKII delivery only 3 to 4 mV.

I would appreciate if you could tell as which model is best and which is the best sound quality transmitted when playing vinyls. From already thank you very much.

I am not an expert on Stanton, however, this data from vinyl engine should help you.

http://www.vinylengine.com/cartridg...chi=&stid=&masslo=&masshi=&notes=&prlo=&prhi=

Look at dynamic compliance. It appears that the AL it's more suitable for a medium mass tone arm, the other would prefer a low mass tone arm.

Tell us what turntable and tone arm you plan on using and we could help you select the proper cartridge.

The difference in mv output, whether 3 or 5, is not significant. The one with the higher output will play slightly louder for a given volume position.

Good luck.

Last edited:
The big difference with Stanton stuff is the stylus. The bodies are all basically the same. The various model numbers basically just tell you which stylus is plugged in. You can get any Stanton 500 stylus and plug it into any 500 body, and make it into whatever the stylus is.