Difference in Marantz 2225 and 2245

Jackson Avio

I have recently purchased a Marantz 2225 and a Marantz 2245. I find that the 2225 has a crisper sound, and the 2245 has the underlying hum of too much base. Is this something that should be expected, or should I change be changing my speakers?

Hi

You probably have a problem with the 2245
It has much more power and a more sophisticated design
So if the 2225 sounds better then you probably have a problem with 2245

Just my 2 cents

the 2245 is an awesome receiver and my personal favorite, whats your other gear your using it with, could be an issue with receiver or maybe just need to adjust the tone or loudness, possibly the speakers

If you turn it up to no greater than 12 o'clock a loud hum comes through the bass. Or if you put the loudness at low volumes a loud hum comes through the bass. My speakers are JBL-L26's. Do you think it's the speakers? This doesn't happen when I turn up my 225 which sounds sweet. I am new to owning any of these receivers so sorry if I sound like I don't know what I am doing. Thanks for your help!

the speakers are rated at 35 watts and the 2245 is rated 45 watts and probably closer to 50. the 2225 is about half the power of 2245 so at 12 o'clock you would be getting almost double the output from 2245, i would guess its possible the speakers cant handle the higher output when you crank it. not sure why it would hum when the loudness button is pressed that sounds more like a receiver issue. im not a tech guy so maybe one will chime in

Thanks Chrisxco ...... Yes I think the 2245 must be too much for the JBL L26's........ Do you have any suggestions for a good pair ( similar vintage ) speakers which would work well ?

Your list of receivers makes me drool