Differences in D100 vs. D150?

rolltide

Apologies as I imagine this has been hashed out at some point, but its always good to get fresh perspectives.

I've been using a D100 as a DAC and preamp for a few years now and considering potential changes. Is the D150 an identical product that adds DSD, or does it have other revisions?

I enjoy the sound of the D100 but it has some idiosyncrasies that make me kind of want to move on. The D150 would be the easiest upgrade, but if all I'm doing is adding DSD and the transport connection and there are no other fixes or revisions I should probably pass.

Not sure if it is a D100 thing or not. If I leave mine playing all day, it develops a skip that gets worse the longer it plays until power cycled. If it is just "on" it doesn't happen, only if playing all that time. I've tried rebooting the computer driving it over USB to no avail, only a power cycle of the D100 does the trick. I think it happened over the optical link, but its been a while since I had it hooked up that way.

Here's an idiosyncrasy that I've noticed about the D100. On cd playback with a very well known song it seems to play just a bit slower than what I'm used to hearing.

The 100's soundstage is wider, deeper and there's more air around the instruments. I'm thinking with the wider soundstage the sound takes a bit longer to reach the listener and gives the impression of a slower tempo?

Last edited:
I have problems using the D100's USB with Roon. I can work around it with usb to spdif converters, but I have a lot of things to connect and would prefer to be able to use USB to free up a coax port. If the D150 has the exact same USB implementation of the D100, I'd probably have the same issues and might look at a C47.

I Love the C47. I am so pleased at what it does for my digital music, it sounds so smooth and natural. Not edgy. Blows my 2 stand alone DACS away, it rightfully should given the cost compared to my other DACS.