Digital Dunce

jcmjrt

Addicted Member
I haven't kept up on the digital music haps. I recently changed my main system amp/pre/tuner after 20 years (yep, I'm a buy and keep kinda' person) and so am in the looking/thinking mode. I just purchased a MC-240 and MX-110 as I heard tube power and liked it (and MCs sound particularly great and look sexy!). I also have a 20 year old CD player. Nice during it's time and still works good but what else is out there?? Does anyone connect their computer to their stereo and just play high bit rate ripped mp3's? Is there basically just a large hard drive out there with a little computer power that's made for doing that? Just plug my ipod in and enjoy? ...or maybe the new CD players are so much better that they put high bit rate ripped MP3's to absolute shame?

jcmjrt said:
Does anyone connect their computer to their stereo?

I have been using my computer for my main source material for about three years now......

I don't, for the most part, use "high Bit Rate" mp3s..just regular Mp3s..at the usual 128kbs bit rate some higher......and some "Mp3pro" @96kbs streamed from the MusicMatch Jukebox On-Demand service......

The MP3s all by themselves sound terrible...but I use a plug-in called 'DFX' and it works wonders for MP3s... I had it at the 'AK Fest' a couple weeks ago......

Reel 2 Reel said:
I have been using my computer for my main source material for about three years now......

I don't, for the most part, use "high Bit Rate" mp3s..just regular Mp3s..at the usual 128kbs bit rate some higher......and some "Mp3pro" @96kbs streamed from the MusicMatch Jukebox On-Demand service......

The MP3s all by themselves sound terrible...but I use a plug-in called 'DFX' and it works wonders for MP3s... I had it at the 'AK Fest' a couple weeks ago......