Dir Drv TT spinning at about 100 rpm

CavScout

I bought a vintage Pioneer PL-4 Direct Drive Turntable for $30 in decent shape.

Upon testing it the platter began to turn backwards and then it went forwards EXTREMELY fast !

I took it apart and cleaned the speed select switch and also the pitch potentiometer (DeOxit) but it didn't change anything.

I downloaded the manual but I didn't find any useful info.

Do any of the experts on here have any idea what it could be ?

I'm no expert but offer advice. If you deox'd the pot & speed selector while rotating/selecting, I'd lean toward bad caps. It could also be a bad pot. Replacing is a fairly easy & straight forward process. Replace w/the same value. Desolder, remove, solder in New. Done.

They most certainly could. Go ahead and look at the schematic; an IC (PA 2007) controls the speed. A bad cap or one too far out of range will change the speed easily.

I did a recap of the lytics (~9 of them) of a similar PL-300, then another guy replaced the trimmers inside and fixed the rogue speed issue.

Last edited:
Thanks.
Which board do need to replace the caps on ?
The small board with the pot on it or the larger board connected to the motor spindle?

Attachments

• 20180420_185202.jpg
    20180420_185202.jpg
    77.2 KB · Views: 32
  • 20180420_185211.jpg
    20180420_185211.jpg
    76.2 KB · Views: 32
Both. Replace all the electrolytics (the black and blue and gray cylinders) they are all at least 40 years old. They're cheap and not even worth the trouble of testing.

You're not gonna nail it - it's a waste of time. Clean that pot with deoxit. It doesn't look like a pot that needs replacing. The variable resistors, however, those semi-open trimmers and old caps, do!