Dirty Ol' Bogen

jpciii

I like pizza
I just came back from my non-audio buddy's house. He dug this DB115 out of his basement and sent me home with it. Now, what the heck am I supposed to do with it? I have no experience with tubes and I have never worked on gear before. Is it safe to plug it in?

wait 'til summa the tubesters around here start talking to you about that unit, but, in the meantime DON'T PLUG IT IN!! unless you have a variac and know how to bring it up ssslllloooowww .... but in the meantime, look for deteriorated insulation on wiring and get all that dust offa there...

shrinkboy

Read the stickey at the top of the page and it has a fairly detailed explaination on how to bring an old amp back to life.
What you have is a nice mono block of around 15 watts hence the 15. That gold was only painted on their made for audio stuff so it is not a PA amp but made for in home Hi Fi.
The chances of that Bogen being ready to go after just a session with a variac are pretty slim, but the only way to find that out is to warm it up and try it out.

I may be a risk taker but I always just hit it with the 110 AC, just as long as it has a fuse. Only time I had damage out of hundreds of tube units I've tried was with a 1930 Sparton radio, a resistor was accidentaly disconnected and the electrolytics began to smoke.

Before I really put a device into use, though, I replace all the paper caps, add a fuse if it doesn't have it, and check all wiring for deterioration. jpciii, I would recommend that you learn about repair and maintenance of these amps and the proper safety precautions before you really begin using it, even if it passes the "smoke test".

Chaud,