DIY Tube Amp Help...

Jeroth

Hey everyone, im new to the forum and also new to DIY Audio. I am currently building myself a pair of speakers, and am looking into building a 2 channel stereo Tube Amplifier to power them. I have experience in soldering and putting together electronics, so im not a total newbie to that. I am looking at building a Tube Amp that has more SQ than SPL, but also has a fair amount of power, know what i mean? My speakers are about 70W RMS each, so the amp needs to put out anything under 70W per channel, but preferably over 25W per channel. Can ANYONE help me out??

Thanks,
Jeroth

Last edited:
Jeroth what you need to know is your speakers efficiency rating, not their power handling capability. Building a good DIY tube amp in the 30 watt range isn't all that complicated. In fact there are more than a few DIY kits on the market.

Mike

To get the power you want, you will have to build a push-pull amp. The 2A3 single ended triode I built only puts out about 3.5-4.0 watts per channel. So, what you see on the output chassis is one 2A3 for each channel.

A simple stereo push pull amp using EL84's I've seen done with a PC board layout, so you don't have to do all the point to point wiring. You can always find these on Ebay:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=3044571624&category=39783

Here is one that was at the last LoneStar Bottleheads meeting:
http://www.wardsweb.org/LSB/08_09_03/Houston28.html

Thanks for the advice, but according to the E-Bay add, that design only puts out 17 watts per channel which is slightly more than only half of what my preferable minimum wattage is. Thanks for the info though, i now know that i need a Push-Pull design, thats one of my questions answered, anyone else??

Jeroth,