Does my new integrated tube amp have enough wattage to properly drive my speakers?

Quentin1998

Hi everyone, I'm very new to all the math that comes along with pairing amplifiers and speakers. The new integrated amp I have is a push pull tube amp 55 watts per channel and my speakers have sensitivity of 90dB. Here is the link to the amp http://www.questforsound.com/amps/amps_sq88.htm and the speakers https://www.paradigm.com/products-hidden/type=bookshelf/model=mini-monitor-v3/page=specs

I believe the amp and speakers will pair well, but like I said above I'm very new to this and comments from others who are more experienced will help greatly.

Thank!!!!

Well, given that you chose fairly small bookshelf speakers, I have to assume you don't have a listening room the size of a warehouse and you don't want to rattle the pictures off the wall. If those assumptions are true, the pairing should sound excellent.

specs:

CONTROL FUNCTIONS: Volume, Input, Power On/Off
REMOTE VOLUME CONTROL
POWER OUTPUT: 55 watt x 2, RMS 1kHz
TOTAL HARMONIC DISTORTION: less than 1%(10watt, 1kHz)
FREQUENCY RESPONSE: (-3dB points at 10 watt) 6Hz-60kHz
INPUT SENSITIVITY: 290mV
INPUT IMPEDANCE: 100k
OUTPUT IMPEDANCE: 4 & 8 OHMS
5 way binding post
SIGNAL/NOISE: 90dB
CONSUMPTION: 120watt
INPUT INTERFACES: 3 groups (RCA) -1,2 & 3 on rear panel
OVERALL NEGATIVE FEEDBACK -VERY LITTLE (-6db)
VACUUM TUBE: kt88 x 4, 6N9P/6SL7 x 2, 6N8P/6SN7 x 2
SELF BIASING DESIGN
DIMENSIONS: 428mm/16 ¾" (L) x 340mm/13 3/8"(W) x 200mm/7 7/8"(H)
WEIGHT: 18kg/40(net);20kg-45LBS(shipping)
INCLUDES 1 SET OF ISOL-PADS ....
WARRANTY- 1 YEAR PARTS AND LABOR - 90 DAYS TUBES

YOU MAY TUBE ROLL AND USE EL-34'S OR 6550 TUBES ..

Speakers
Mini Monitor v3 Specifications

Design

2-driver, 2-way bass reflex, quasi-3rd-order resistive port, bookshelf / stand-mounted

Crossover

3rd-order electro-acoustic at 2.0kHz

Frequency Response On-Axis

±2dB from 56 Hz - 20 kHz

Frequency Response 30° Off-Axis

±2dB from 56 Hz - 18 kHz