Duffinator

Duffinator

Spin The Black Circle
I’m the Duffinator and I work for the Governator. Not directly but I’m a financial analyst at a CA state pension fund. I’m originally from So. Cal. and really miss the OC beaches and life style there but not the traffic. Sacramento is a nice place to raise a family but it’s biggest claim to fame, besides being the temporary home of the Terminator, is it’s close to San Francisco and Lake Tahoe. I’m married with five year old twins. The twins are a blast and I’m a twin so it’s fun to watch my kids interact and wonder how my brother and I were at that age.

My audio odyssey started when I was a kid. My dad was a part-time musician and an electrical engineer so I got an early dose of music and gear. My first real piece of audio gear was a Sansui 3000A which I still have. I bought it while in college in 1977 from my uncle who purchased it while in Japan while serving in the Navy in 1968. I had loaned the Sansui to my dad who returned it to me three years ago. It was no longer working properly so while looking for info on the 3000A I found AK. AK has been my main online home ever since. I also belong to several other audio and video related forums and use Duffinator there as well.

Like many of you I’ve gone through a cycle of discovering how cool the vintage gear still is and how affordable it is compared to 30 years ago! I’ve bought and sold a bunch of stuff but my favorite electronics manufacturer is Sansui. Probably because it was my first… :smoke: I’m now focusing mainly on experimenting with different speakers. I’m also into home theater and have a mid-fi system that I’m constantly messing with. For me a large screen TV and nice multichannel audio system with a big subwoofer are perfect for watching your favorite concerts on DVD or HD! My favorite concert on DVD is the Brian Setzer Orchestra Live in Japan. If you haven’t seen it rent it and check it out. The music on this DVD crosses many genres and is a lot of fun.