DVD Video Quality

ConradH

AK Subscriber
Subscriber
I'm really a noob at this, usually just putting Netflix DVDs in my $29.95 Sony player and watching them on an ancient Sharp flat screen. They look good enough and any video shortcomings are made up by my decent sound system.

I recently upgraded my PC to a fast machine running Windows 10. My video card is designed for CAD work because that's what I do, not gaming or video, but it still has (I think) decent specs for video. It's an Nvidia K1200. The monitor is a Viewsonic VP-2468. I chose that for my photo editing work, and it's great. When I play those same DVDs on the PC system with VLC Media Player, they just don't seem crisp or bright.

I can make adjustments in the player, but they don't seem to help much. It's like the dynamic range is limited. What got me to thinking about this is I was watching some YouTube videos that were crystal clear and bright, and my DVDs don't seem to compete.

Can anybody suggest things I should look at to improve the DVD video quality?

Your PC may be playing HD video from Netflix, and DVD just is not as high resolution. I find it hard to imagine a video card are in the last 10 years that could not play a DVD properly.

I'm not familiar with that Nvidia card - but as you noted it's optimized for CAD/vector use. This is not a great combination for motion raster video. It could be that the lack of detail or sharpness is due to motion. I also don't know anything about your monitor - is it intended for vector graphics or motion graphics?
Most CAD systems I've seen in the past (albeit older ones) were quite bad at any sort of raster display.
If you have an older PC with a regular screen or monitor, try your DVDs there. You don't need a super fast machine to decode MPEG-2. An old Pentium 4 machine would suffice.