Dynaco A25's vs. KLK Model 5's

blau

Alright guys! I need help with a dilemma. I’ve been listening to a pair of recapped Dynaco A25’s for a couple years now and have been quite happy with them. The other day a pair or KLH Model 5’s came up for a deal I couldn’t refuse. I really only have space for one or the other and I can’t decide which to keep. I know it’s sort of apples to oranges since the A25’s are two way and the Model 5’s are three way. My impression from about 10 minutes of listening is that the A25’s have more detail in the mids (ironically) but the Model 5’s produce a more “open” sound stage. I haven’t done any work on the KLH’s (ie recap, rewire, deoxit the contacts, etc) so that’s why I thought I’d reach out for some thoughts from people that know what they should sound like. Right now my system consists of a Technics SL-1200 MKII (with rewired tonearm), a Bellari VP129, and a pair of Dynaco MKIV’s. I’m mostly listening to indie rock and folk with a little jazz and classical. Any thoughts would be welcome! Thanks!

I just found a pair of KLH 5's (someone was throwing them out!) and haven't really sat down to take a good listen since I'm about to start the process of restoring them. So I can't offer much insight, but you may want to take a look at what was said about them in the thread I started a while ago. I believe some people gave their impressions.

http://www.audiokarma.org/forums/showthread.php?t=513621

Recap those KLH Fives (not a hard job) and then give them a close listen. I think they do a lot of things beautifully, with only the very top end rolled off a bit. I don't have A25s to compare them with, but the Fives are well worth restoring and listening to.

If there's anything I don't need it's another pair of speakers but I've heard so much about the KLHs that I may start looking. Dynaco 25 or 35 too. I don't have a WAF so I can do anything I'm big enough to:D