Dynaco SCA-35 Upgrade

Rossmosis

Hey all, I’m currently running a Dynaco SCA-35 into a pair of Pioneer HPM-60’s in my small listening space. Looking for some opinions on a few upgrade options:

1) Doing the SCA-35 Power Board mod (cheapest)

2) Giving a new Rega Brio a try

3) Wait to find a Fisher tube amp for a not-too-crazy price

I think I might be a tube guy since other SS amps I’ve owned seemed lacking to me but the Brio seems like it could be a good, reliable option. Open to any & all suggestions, definitely trying to keep costs under $1000. Thanks!

There is dynaco sca-35 for sell in my area. Tell me about your experience with yours. I'm considering getting into tube even though I am a newbie in all this. Suppose to be completely refurbished and ready for action. Thanks for any info

There is dynaco sca-35 for sell in my area. Tell me about your experience with yours. I'm considering getting into tube even though I am a newbie in all this. Suppose to be completely refurbished and ready for action. Thanks for any info

They really sound great. When I got mine it was also refurbished. I subsequently upgraded the power supply and output boards (replaces the no longer made 7199 pre amp tube with a 6GH8A or 6U8A which are cheap and and easy to source). That is how much I like mine. See here for mods: http://tronola.com/html/daves_store.html
No affiliation.

With any low watt tube amp you will need efficient speakers if you want it to get extremely loud. For example the Klipsch Heritage line of speakers. I use Klipsch Heresy with mine.

I would be running to pick this up as it is a great intro to tubes.

Last edited:
Hey all, I’m currently running a Dynaco SCA-35 into a pair of Pioneer HPM-60’s in my small listening space. Looking for some opinions on a few upgrade options:

1) Doing the SCA-35 Power Board mod (cheapest)

2) Giving a new Rega Brio a try

3) Wait to find a Fisher tube amp for a not-too-crazy price