E-Coli stupidity

transmaster

AK Subscriber
Subscriber
Now we have yet another Lettuce E. Coli outbreak. The stupidity of people. Doesn’t anyone sanitize their fresh fruits and vegetables anymore. As a Navy cook I was trained on how to handle fresh fruits and vegetables. A ship on a port visit would purchase fresh fruits and vegatables it was up to us to keep people from getting sick. A couple of drops of chlorine bleach in water soak the vegatable for a short time and rinse, done. It is even easier now there are cheap purpose made sanitizers that do a good job. With this simple precaution no one needs to get sick.

44D94FBF-CB8C-4840-AFE7-3D442D275D3F.jpeg

I had E. Coli when I was 12, it was not fun. 2 weeks in the hospital, spent some time in intensive care. I was able to avoid dialysis, my cousin got it too and she wasn't as lucky as she was younger and her liver wasn't developed enough. I remember getting out, and trying to run and fell because I had been laying in a bed for 2 weeks.

E. Coli is really nasty and a person can be infected in so many ways. Sanatizing Fresh fruits and vegetables removes one such way. In Victorian times the reason why you wore gloves was to avoid touching things directly. Today you carry a hand sanitizer and use it often.

Last edited:
transmaster tens of millions of military all over the world would say theres no such thing as a military cook.:jump: sorry couldn't resist.Actually when I was a military brat i use to sell newspapers at the serg mess in cfb borden and the food was actually pretty good considering they were serving a ton of people.The cooks would feed me on the sly as there was one idiot sergent who thought I was somehow pushing the army into bankruptcy by being fed .All the other guys were supernice even more so in the officers mess.

Last edited: