ELAC Adante AF-61

stonedeaf

AK Subscriber
Subscriber
Picked up my ELAC AF-61's Friday. I was simply to damm curious about what A.Jones was doing with this speakers 200 hz down bass system ( sealed box/passive radiators/internally ported/multiple bass drivers and multiple passive radiators) . First off - lovely bass -tight ,crisp ,detailed and real authority. And no - they don't do dinosaur footfalls or hip-hop thumpa -thumpa - but ya wanna hear everything Ray Brown is doing -these will do nicely. The surprise for me was the degree of improvement in the mids/highs over the LS-50's that I've been listening thru for the last 8 or 9 months. The AF-61 co-ax mid/tweet is a marvel ( I think?? this might be the same part in all three Adante models ?) - exceptionally sweet n just plain linear over the range it covers. I have records that I've enjoyed for 40-50 years that I just thought had passages that screetched or rang at certain points . Thought these were part of the original performance -guess not. This isn't to say the AF-61 are the magic syrup that buries detail along with play back distortion - not so - I suspect lots of speakers have problems with powerful female vocals or horn passages just around the crossover point between the mid(s) and tweeter(s) ? BTW- really lousy recordings have no problem sounding really lousy thru these speakers (sigh:-( . the 61's throw a wide and deep image that any mini-monitor would be proud to claim.