Entry level DAC advice

AndyCJ

I've been looking at setting up a laptop as a music center - and I've been looking around at DAC's that would improve the quality of the output.

I've got around $300 at the outside and I was wondering if the following 2 would be good?

$250 - usb only KingRex from Coem Audio - (http://www.coemaudio.com.au/Sources/DACs/)

$312 - Beresford (http://i-hear.com.au/ProductDetails.aspx?ID=3).

I've read a few negative things about Stan Beresord from a while ago - but before that I had talked to the guy in AU selling the Beresford, and he seemed quite a standup guy (recommended ASIO4ALL to improve the digital stream coming into the DAC too).

I was wondering if anyone has heard either of these DAC's and could comment on them? Also, if anyone knows a bit more technically about these DAC's I'd appreciate that sort of advice also (I'm a bit of a newb to the audio stuff I'm affraid - sigh).

Cheers,
Andy

I got a Beresford TC-7520 and it has brought even my mp3 files back to life. But I heard he brought out a limited run of a souped up TC-7520 that is called the Beresford Caiman. I got the info from the UK What HIFI magazine forum, which promises to be doing a review on it. The early buyers all seem to be smiling from ear to ear.
I can't catch it on his international site though, so I have no idea how they got hold of one. It has the WM8716 DAC chip, LM4562NA opamps like in the new DAC1, and the PCM2902 USB DAC chip.
Somebody mentioned on a UK audio forum that they paid U$300 for theirs delivered. I am tempted:scratch2:.

I can't source a Numbers Cruncher here in Australia I'm affraid.

Might check out the supplier to see if the Caiman is available here? Probably out of my price range if it is anyhow!