Explain Like I'm 5: Speaker impedance/efficiency

Greg Nal

Audio Wizard Wannabe
Subscriber
I'm kinda new to the audio thing and trying to wrap my head around so many new facts and theories. One that has somewhat eluded me is the whole concept of speaker efficiency and what amps pair well with what speakers. Short of trial and error, is there a short course of discourse to help brighten the dimness of the light bulb over my head when it comes to speakers? Once I get through this one I'll have another on phono cartridges but that is for another day. C'mon AK'ers, give me your best shot!

Typically the more efficient the speaker the fewer watts are needed to drive it to the same sound pressure level(SPL).

So a speaker with 99db efficiency powered by a 10 watt amplifier can play as loudly or louder than a speaker rated at 89db powered by a 100 watt amp.

Impedance has no relation to efficiency, it represents the "load" the amplifier sees. The higher the impedance the easier it is on the amplifier but higher impedance reduces total available power. For example an 8 ohm speaker can get the full 100watts from an amp rated for 8 ohm speakers. With a pair of 16 ohm speakers the amp will put out only about 50watts. A 4 ohm speaker may get up to 200 watts from the amplifier provided it is rated to handle a 4 ohm load. Rarely does an amp actually double it's output into a 4 ohm load, but better quality amps can get close.

With respect to vintage speakers, how do you determine/where do you find the efficiency rating? I have been slowly acquiring a number of well thought of 60's-70's speakers and am not aware of a resource to look up the efficiency. is there a site like hifiengine for amps/receivers or fmtunerinfo for tuners, for speakers?

Sensitivity (efficiency) is measured in dB (decibels) at 1 watt at 1 meter.

SPL (sound pressure level) is logarithmic, not arithmetic. An increase of 10dB will double the perceived volume.