First restore effort... C-70/M-70

Discussion in 'Yamaha' started by dino74, Jun 11, 2018.

1. dino74

dino74 New Member

I previously posted about getting a B-2x/C-2x and I'm going to restore those eventually but I've never done it before. So, I ran across a M-70/C-70 combo for $150 and figured it be a good place to start. If I totally mess it up, I wouldn't lose too much. Pics below, C-70 has some scratches on top and the M-70 is decent. In pic 1310, is that an example of the infamous glue in the lower left corner?

Attached Files:

Please register to disable this ad.

2. avionic

avionic " Black Knights " Subscriber

Yes

3. Bratwurst7s

Bratwurst7s In The Frying Pan Subscriber

In the M-70 the 12v power supply board is the one that will have lots of that Sony bond glue that needs to be removed. There were lots of corroded parts there in my M-70.

Also, on the "Control-1" pcb there is a safety cap that must be replaced. C607. In my unit it was a 0.47µF/250v but in the US models I think that it is different. ?0.22µF/250v? In any case it must be replaced, it can explode.
    https://www.mouser.de/ProductDetail/Panasonic/ECQ-U3A224MG?qs=sGAEpiMZZMv1cc3ydrPrF%2bfZ13WJ/r1/0vmwaluRlFs=
    https://www.mouser.de/ProductDetail/Panasonic-Electronic-Components/ECQ-U3A474MG/?qs=sGAEpiMZZMvQAn3cSZoTr1%2b0Ye1BktuzFq%2bm14xyTdw=

While you are in there it won't hurt to replace the 3x smaller 6800pF/250v safety caps. C608, 609 & 610.
    https://www.mouser.de/productdetail/panasonic/ecq-u2a682kl?qs=sGAEpiMZZMv1cc3ydrPrF0%2bjlB8SXIRuFjuQdipUHOg=

You got those 2 units for a good price. They're pretty good equipment.

Cheers,
    James

edit: The replacement cap must be a "safety" cap, X1 or X2 rated.

Last edited: Jun 13, 2018 at 1:05 AM
  4. dino74

dino74 New Member

Thanks for the info about the safety, I'll have to look at the schematic to see what the general model uses.