Fisher 400 Loudness Switch Wiring

streetwise

Does anybody have pictures or a diagram of the loudness switch wiring. I rebuilt my receiver and I have an imbalance in volume, when I disconnect the left channel loudness wire from the volume control it returns to full volume.

With the unit UPSIDE DOWN, The Front of the Unit is to your Right. You have 2 wires from the balance control, and 2 coax wires from the Phase Inverter area. Black with a stripe (green), and WHITE with a stripe. Pins are 1-2-3 side wall to balance pot.

Front POT (closest to attachment nut.)
Pin 1 White wire from Balance pot.
Pin 2 Center lead of WHITE COAX.
Pin 3 Shield lead of WHITE COAX (Ground)

Rear POT
Pin 1 Blue wire from Balance pot.
Pin 2 Center lead of BLACK COAX
Pin 3 Shield lead of BLACK COAX.

Underneath is the leads for the loudness circuit
White is for the Front Pot
Violet for the Rear Pot.

The ends aren't too clear to see where they go as the heatshrink is all the same color, but you get the general idea.

And next time, TAKE PICTURES! :rflmao:
100_3042 MODDED.jpg

hey larry do you have any of the loudness switch itself. my guess is the cap on the left channel isn't placed right as the wires were placed differently on the switch itself. and yes I should have taken very in depth pictures for my own benefit and for others

With Unit upside down the caps will be on the TOP and CENTER PINS of the switch. Make sure the 22K resistors are connected also at the top pin.
100_4516 modded.jpg

Also be very careful that you don't cross the channels. The treble boost cap must connect to the top of the same control whose loudness tap the the loudness switch ultimately connects this cap to when the loudness switch is turned on.

Dave