Fixing Yamaha CA-1000 II

cellom

Hi there, this is my first post in the Yamaha forum.
http://www.audiokarma.org/forums/showthread.php?t=559253
I would like to share some pics of a small project I did lately.
Bought a CA-1000 II on ebay which was sold as a non working unit. I wanted a CA-1000 badly for quite some time and when I found this one on ebay.de, Germany (It looked okay, price was ok) I was very happy and ready for a challenge. (I am a beginner when it comes to repairing audio electronics...)

P1000345.JPG

When I first turned on the unit, there was no sign of life at all. The first thing I found was a dirty on/off switch. Cleaning it and treating it with contact spray was enough to get the switch working. (Checked it thoroughly with a multimeter before mains etc..). Amp was still dead. At least I could hear the transformer hum. But no protection relay click.

P1000354.JPG

P1000363.JPG

right channel main amp removed, this is the faulty part as it turned out. One of the fuses was blown. So I started to look for trouble here.

more pics on their way...

Reactions: mbz
I found the power transistors to be faulty and the fusible resistor fr602.
Replaced the transistors with ON semi MJ21194G and MJ21193G and the fusible resistor with WELWYN - ULW2-47RJA25. Not sure though if this is the best solution :scratch2:
badpart.JPG

Decided to leave the 2sc680 2sa566 alone for the moment, they seemed okay.
(I did order replacements though, at radio rotor in Amsterdam http://www.rotor.eu/en/).
New transistors in place...
P1000429.JPG

checking the idling current on both sides:
P1000453.JPG

because I changed the tr. on the left channel as well
P1000369.JPG

With these things fixed I still had a fading right channel. Even after exhaustive cleaning and treating of the pots:
P1000432.JPG

So work was continued at the switches:
P1000477.JPG

Reassembly:
P1000459.JPG

P1000462.JPG

face plate back on
P1000471.JPG

Oh, replaced the broken bulb with a LED
P1000475.JPG