Found a pair of Infinity RS625 for $175...Should I buy?

stevebuscemi

Hey, guys first post. I'm a bit of a newbie, any help/advice would be appreciated.

Is this a good deal? Or should I wait until this weekend when I can look around some thrift stores/pawn shops and try to find a better deal?

Right now I'm using some Panasonic SB-ZR30 speakers that I've had for awhile. Can't find much of anything on those, so I'm also wondering if anyone has any knowledge on them.

RS-625s are well-liked by those that like them. $175 is a primo price however. They had better be in perfect condition for that price, with surrounds replaced and crossover caps replaced too.

What's your budget? Is this around the most you're willing to spend, or will you pay more for significantly better speakers?

What other gear are you running? What amp?

How big is your space? What kind of music do you like?

(I'm trying!)
Haha, I appreciate the help!

I just picked up a Harmon Kardon HK 3390 receiver and Onkyo DX-C220 cd player for $60 together this weekend (the CD player doesn't work very well, but the receiver seems to be well worth the $60 alone). Along with those, I have an Audio Technica LP60 turntable.

Music? Rock, hip hop, pop, jazz, and country...Probably in that order too.

Picture of my space attached to give an idea. I still need to hang up that Zappa poster; I just moved recently. :D
0.jpg

Nice digs. Dig the Zappa and rug.
Nice little HK receiver but it's not going to run Infinities proper. Even though HK has good high-current watts, 80 is just getting started with the speakers you;re talking about. You'll be kicking yourself (or burning up drivers as distortion does) when you really want to jam Led Zeppelin!)
That's just the way it is with Infinities. They love power. 80 watts won't do it for rock and roll. I know. Smoked 4 receivers on my Infinities
They're like a Porsche 911 Sound like a basic VW beetle under 3,000 rpm, but become a Porsche over 4k.