Going Mobile. Thinking about connecting my cellphone to a FiiO DAC/Amplifier

Discussion in 'DACs' started by Alobar, Feb 3, 2018.

1. Alobar

Alobar Pulling out of the Last Chance Texaco.. Subscriber

I am pretty new at this topic, and as of this morning I wasn't even sure my phone (a Samsung Not 8) would play above MP3 (although I strongly suspected it would). I tested it with both FLAC and APE and it worked fine with both formats.

Now, I have ordered a new set of headphones, the Sennheiser HD 579 and I am considering a mobile (as in small, battery operated) amp/DAC that will pull lossless from my phone for those times when I am away from home, particularly when away from a 120v power source. I am looking at this device:

Fiio E17K ALPEN 2 USB DAC

Has anyone had experience with pulling digital files out of a phone to a device like this? I realize that I can just plug my headphones straight into the phone, but I am already looking for an upgrade it would seem! Not only looking for a better DAC than is likely in a cellphone, but perhaps a better amp to drive my 50 ohm HP's

What say you? Is this something worthwhile, or is there a better headphone DAC/amp out there? Or do I just need an amp as the DAC in the Note 8 is really that good?

I know I should probably wait and see if I like the sound of my headphones before spending more money, but I wont have a basis for comparison, and I am going on a trip for a few weeks so I want to be prepared. It takes advanced planning living this remote to get the stuff here with how slow and delayed things arrive via the mail.

Please register to disable this ad.

2. whoaru99

whoaru99 Epic Member

I've connected my S5 by USB to a Emotiva XDA-1, but of course that requires AC mains power.

Needed a USB OTG cable. I spent a buck or so more for a USB 3 micro variant, not because it would make better sound but because it seems bit more robust connection than a USB 2 micro plug.

3. Alobar