Good conical carts for the 1200?

Yah....

But the best one to date is the revered conical cartridge that has been used on most reviews by Stereophile.com

Don't get me wrong, there are some great benefits in sound with many different conicals, but one rises to the top which allows a person to hear allot more.

ZU / DL 103 Mk II.....and it comes in different grades if you expect better and demand the best sound quality possible....

I've got a lot of experience with the Audio Technica CN5625AL and the Shure SC35C/N35X on Technics turntables. I would go with the CN5625AL. I think the Shures have better midrange and low end, but the AT is better at tracking. And to me that makes a world of difference. Plus it has stayed at $20 for a while now, unlike the Shures that continue to rise in price. Both do a good job of reducing clicks/pops.

Honestly, if I was stuck with one cartridge for a while and it was the CN5625AL, I wouldn't mind.

OP why do you want a conical cartridge for your 1200 if its going to be for home use, I could maybe understand if you were going out DJing a conical might be practical.

OP why do you want a conical cartridge for your 1200 if its going to be for home use, I could maybe understand if you were going out DJing a conical might be practical.

Opinions may differ, but I find that the 5625AL picks up less noise on rough-ish LPs compared to my AT12Sa or Ortofon Red.

I'm just tired of swapping carts when I want to listen to old mono LPs and styrene 45s, which seems quite often.
I figured if there is a really good conical out there, I'd just use that as my main cart.
I know, that sounds lazy. But I'm not a huge audiophile guy, and I'm just hoping there was a great all around conical.