Good DVD player for CD playing?

Vistance

Hey guys, I've been seeing the phenomenon more often where people talk about how good a DVD player sounds playing CDs. I know people seem to be selling off their old DVD players in favour of Bluray players, so the opportunity to pick up a good CD playing DVD player for cheap seems easier than finding good CD players. But I'm curious - are there any well remarked brands/models to look for? Are any of the old "fat" DVD players from the late '90s good CDPs? Or are they bested by some of the newer ones?

Mostly just want to find something that actually displays the track number on the face and time into the song (Though I'd really like one that lets you set the time mode to the standard settings of Current/Total/Remaining Current/Remaining Total as well as show you a calender view of all the songs on the disc). Are there any DVD players like this or am I going to have to buy a CDP to retain all those time/track listing functions?

I am no expert but I saw a Toshiba DVD player from '99 in the Goodwill yesterday for $13.99. It was Made in Japan, fairly heavy for modern equipment, and even had a digital audio output. I think something like that would be great for CD playback if your looking for something cheap (And based on the "Thrift Shopper" under your name I'm guessing you are).

various Denon and Sony models fit your requirements. at this moment i'm running a Denon DVD-3930ci and a Sony DVP-S7700 side by side. the Sony is probably the best $100-150 you can drop on a digital audio player, and the Denon might be the best $350. on regular CD they are actually pretty competitive with each other, although the Denon has somewhat higher resolution and tighter bass. the Denon has a big advantage in that it offers HDCD, SACD, and DVD-Audio. video-wise, they are also both extremely strong units, with the Denon being one of your best options available for upsampling regular DVDs to 1080p.