Good headphones for SX-980?

Eldin

Hello everyone.

I'm slowly overhauling an SX-980 I picked up not too long ago. I currently use a pair of vintage Koss Pro4aa's and I'd really just like a change at this point (if you've ever worn them, you know the clamping force is that of a vice).

Any recommendations for headphones in around the 150$ mark? Preferably over ear headphones as earbuds and on ear just don't go well with me :p

Thanks in advance.

If you want comfort, Beyerdynamic. I have a pair of DT 770s. They are very comfortable. Sound good too. You need to find somewhere that you can audition headphones. Not too many places left though. I bought these on sale at Guitar Center for a great price.

Last edited:
Send me the 4aa's. Love them. And you can adjust the headband so the clamping force is just that of a small vise vs. King Kong squeezing your head like a zit. I've been using Pro-4A's since 1969 and the 4AA's for 2 years now. I added another pair of pads to the originals(contact cement) to get enough depth so my ears don't crimp when laying down. When my Pro-4A's headband and cups finally disintegrated I took the guts and transplanted them into a pair of David Clark earphones (Navy Flight Deck Head protector units.) and they work quite well.

If you find the 4AA's are too tight, but like the sound go to the Koss Site. They've got a lot more over the ear types. You might like a few.

How do you go about adjusting the clamping force of them? Any secrets they hold? They do have the great redeeming factor of making you look like an old helicopter pilot ;)

I just bend the headband carefully and evenly (the cups moving away from each other). Extend the arms all the way out 1st. The nut on the side of the one cup is for a boom type mic if you want to use them for skypeing.