Greetings from a new 500C owner...questions and photos inside

bayen

Greetings! I've been visiting for a few months now and figured it was time to say hello and ask a few questions. First off, I'd like to say that this site is outstanding...I'm constantly amazed by Audio Karma's knowledgeable members! I've been a member of another audio forum for years and a Fisher 500C discussion on the Steve Hoffman forum brought me here to Audio Karma. After reading about the Fishers performance...not to mention the love at first sight... I knew I needed to have my own Fisher 500C...my first piece of tube gear. After a bit of searching I found a real nice working Fisher that didn't set me back all that much. The previous owner used it as his main receiver until he purchased a new system. The on/off switch had been replaced at one point but other than that it's all original. The seller brought it up slowly on a variac and then used the unit for a few weeks to make sure all was fine. Since it had been used recently, I decided to try it for a few nights before servicing. Wow! I finally heard first hand how amazing Fisher tube gear sounds! I was a bit nervous using the unit without the safety mods I've read about on this site...I kept a close eye on the tubes and everything seemed to be in super working order. The only odd thing I noticed was that the left channel cut out for a few seconds. When this occurred I decided to stop using the receiver until I could have it serviced. I spent a few weeks reading and taking notes...still trying to decide what route to take...service the receiver myself or take it to a tech. Honestly, if I could find a recommended tech within driving distance I probably would have done so already. It took me an afternoon of phone calls just to find a place that could test the tubes...a 45 min. drive from home..I live 30 miles west of Philadelphia. So, here is my plan. I have a work area set up with lots of space and lots of light. I was going to purchase a Me