Harbeth vs JBL/Altec/Klipsch

Hello,
I have a question that is stuck in my mind for a long time. I tried to google but have not found a satisfactory answer. I am using a pair of Harbeth 30.1 (upgraded from Klipsch Chorus 2). I have been using Harbeths for 2 years, and I much prefer it to the Chorus 2. Harbeth is much less tiring, more detailed, smooth and natural.

I plan to upgrade the speakers, a friend of mine in Vietnam suggested me to try Altec 604-8g or JBL L300. I don't have a chance to audition them so I don't know how good they are. To find the answer, I once asked a dealer in my area about vintage Altec and JBL vs Harbeth. He said if I liked the natural sound, the organic sound, I should stick with Harbeth. Altec and JBL are "just the opposite" (I guess he meant they are colored).

I am confused because I know that vintage Altec and JBL have lots of fans. If the natural, life-like sound is the holy grail, why are so many people willing to pay thousands to get those vintage speakers?

I don't have budget to buy Altec or JBL in the same price range as Harbeth 30.1 to compare. The only way is to audition or to sell Harbeth and buy a pair of Altec to try out. I can't do the audition in my area and I don't want to deal with the hassle of selling so I hope those who have experienced with Altec, JBL and Harbeth to shed some light onto my question: Are Altec and JBL opposite to Harbeth , are they colored and not natural?

Thank you.

Huy.

Well I doubt too many people have compared the Harbeth to vintage JBL or Altec in a one on one setting. I know I can’t give a definitive answer.

I recently heard Harbeth bookshelves on stands with some excellent modern gear. In another session I heard Altecs with a restored vintage tube amp. The Harbeth system sounded much better to me. Could have been the rest of the system but I was really impressed with the high end modern equipment.