Has anyone heard this about tire rotation.

jimfet

Lunatic Member
I just went to get my yearly inspection from Firestone. I have been using this Firstone for almost 40 years, but now it is under a new owner. I'm having other things done, oil change etc........ The guy comes in and says he can't rotate my tires cause they are over 3 years old. They are tires I got from there and only have 30000 miles on them. They are 70000 mile tires, with plenty of thread. I also needed a tire monitor installed on one of my tires. He said he couldn't do that because they are not allowed to break down tires over 3 years old. I think he is FOS. Oh the tires were bought in 2013. The car dealership has been rotating them since then. Just thought I would try Firestone this year.
I asked him why buy a high mileage tire if it is only covered for 3 years, Plus when you buy the tires it's free rotation for the life of the tire. Which means your tire is now dead at 3 years. I went to the firestone site and there is no mention of this.

+1 on bullcrap, unless for whatever reason, it's company policy, and I'd want that in writing and go elsewhere for tires next time around.

One fairly recent development I've see is the recommendation that your better tread should always go on the back, regardless of whether your vehicle is front or rear drive. Theory is, the back end tends to be lighter and can always use the extra grip ...

Kinda bass ackwards compared to the way most of us were taught to do it. In my case, it'd be more a case of popping the baldies up front with perfectly good rubber on the back as I tend to burn out a lot ... ;-}

You wouldn't have anything to lose by calling their "Customer Retention" number:

YOUR SATISFACTION IS IMPORTANT TO US