Heathkit AA-151 Cleanup

Discussion in 'Tube Audio' started by Kilgannon, Aug 10, 2018.

1. Kilgannon

Kilgannon New Member

So my dad and I were cleaning out his garage and came across his old Heathkit. He wants me to sell it but before I try to post it up anywhere I want to open it up and clean some of the dust and grime that has inevitably collected inside but seeming as I've never done this before, I was hoping to get some tips and advice on the best way to go about this without damaging anything. TIA for any information!

Please register to disable this ad.

2. stanko

stanko Hoarder Subscriber

I ordered that kit with Christmas money, January, 1968.

Kilgannon likes this.
  3. stanko

Don't scrub the lettering off.

Kilgannon likes this.
  4. thorpej

thorpej AK Subscriber Subscriber

Kilgannon likes this.
  5. Kilgannon

Kilgannon New Member

6. Kilgannon

Kilgannon New Member

I'm being extremely gentle BUT i opened it up and it is corroded pretty bad...beyond my capabilities by a long shot

7. Kilgannon

Kilgannon New Member

Unfortunately, once I opened it up I found nothing but corrosion

8. Kilgannon

Kilgannon New Member

9. kward

kward AK Subscriber Subscriber

So it's not as valuable as you thought, but there is still some value there. Maybe pull the transformers out, test them, and sell them separately as a set. Someone will buy them.

Kilgannon likes this.
  10. thorpej

thorpej AK Subscriber Subscriber

The output transformers in these units are very good, possibly some of the best ultra-linear EL84 transformers available (right up there with the Dynaco EL84 UL transformers).

Kilgannon likes this.
  11. drtool

drtool It might get loud In Houston Subscriber

I would not touch it. Just put it up for sale, with the back story.

Anti_Skate and Kilgannon like this.

12. Kilgannon

Kilgannon New Member