Heathkit AA-151 Cleanup

Kilgannon

So my dad and I were cleaning out his garage and came across his old Heathkit. He wants me to sell it but before I try to post it up anywhere I want to open it up and clean some of the dust and grime that has inevitably collected inside but seeming as I've never done this before, I was hoping to get some tips and advice on the best way to go about this without damaging anything. TIA for any information!

So it's not as valuable as you thought, but there is still some value there. Maybe pull the transformers out, test them, and sell them separately as a set. Someone will buy them.

The output transformers in these units are very good, possibly some of the best ultra-linear EL84 transformers available (right up there with the Dynaco EL84 UL transformers).

I'm just going to clean up the outside, put it back together, and put it up for sale. We aren't really concerned about getting a ton of money for it, just don't want to leave it sitting to gather dust and corrosion anymore

That will clean up, just be careful of the faceplate, that's what you're gonna be looking at after you find out how good it sounds. I rebuilt one in 1980, took it to a friends' house where he had Korner Horns and an SX1250, (Klipsch and Pioneer). He never hooked up the 1250 again and wouldn't let me leave with the 151 until I got him some tube equipment.

I had a Heathkit AA-151 as my first stereo tube amplifier (had built a mono 60FX5 amp for a science fair project not long before) when I was taking electronics in high school. It had spent several years in someone's garden shed, with the 'ugly basketball orange' case looking very dirty and with scratched-up chrome trim on the front. I actually thought it was a PA amp at first, at least until I noticed the lack of microphone inputs. :oops: