Hello from Arkansas..

Smokey_T

Hello from the foot of the Ouachita mountains. I live in Hot Springs and I found your forum while looking for some information on some Altec Lansing 508s that are for sale on Facebook marketplace. I dated a girl in high school who's father worked for Altec Lansing in Oklahoma City. I was able to score some awesome 6x9s for my car and thought I was the $#!+ !! I think these are meant to be mine because the guy selling them is an old school mate as well. He's asking $115 and I think that's fair. I do not consider myself to be an audiophile since I could never afford the big name systems and speakers. I thought Pioneers were awesome! (They did crank out some hair metal pretty well, just couldn't tell the difference in where the distortion was coming from!) I retired about 3 years ago and recently got divorced and am living alone since all the kids are grown and such. So, I'm in a spot where I can turn it up anytime I want. I was a drummer back in the day so I recently bought an Alesis Dm10 Pro Studio electronic drum set and am in the market for an amp for it. I always wanted to learn guitar as well so first I got a cheap acoustic and plucked around on it but I really wanted to learn bass. So, I bought an Ibanez Bass with a baby amp. 2 days later a friend of mine traded me an electric guitar and another baby amp for a washer. So needless to say I am looking for lots of new sound equipment and look forward to hearing the opinions from those with a lot more experience and knowledge than I. I started a junk removal business about a year ago and that has been an eye opener as to what all people will pay someone to haul off. My 2nd job I acquired and entire living room set from Pottery Barn and was able to sell it for $2500 after they paid me to take it. So far electronic wise it's been mostly huge front heavy old TV's so I'm still waiting on the big score in that area.