Hello! New Here!

BReicher

Hi Folks,

New guy here. I stumbled onto this site when I was googling a piece of vintage gear. SO glad I found this site. I'm an audio engineer (an budding voice over talent) from Los Angeles. Most of my experience is tracking live instruments - Piano, Strings... acoustic instruments, using class A gear.

I have to confess though, I never really understood the inner workings of amps or vintage Hi-Fi. So, I hope to change that by hanging around you all.

I recently inherited a Pioneer SX 1500 TD paired with Pioneer CS 99 5way speakers. My father-in-law bought the system in Korea in Jan. of 1970. I have the original manuals and receipts, believe it or not. The system sounds thick and warm! Hard to believe its solid sate! The amp is a little hi-mid hissy on one side (don't know if that can be remedied), but I just love the sound! Very analog and warm.

I'll be posting some questions about another piece of gear I just bought to add to the mix (a Sansui SE-7 10 band graphic EQ), to tune the system to the room acoustics.

Anyway! Glad I found you all!

Burleigh

Uh Oh

You are in trouble now. Your going to take on a new addiction that is insidious in nature. First, you'll want to know all about what you have. Innocuous enough but its just another gateway drug to the next level.

Then, as the addiction grows, you'll start buying vinyl.

Then as it grips you tighter you'll start cleaning vinyl (tricky isn;t it ? ) and then the equipment changes/collecting starts. You'll check this site several times a day.

Sorry bud, you are doomed....:D

Hey, welcome aboard...LOL...Enjoy ...This is a great place

You are in trouble now. Your going to take on a new addiction that is insidious in nature. First, you'll want to know all about what you have. Innocuous enough but its just another gateway drug to the next level.

Then, as the addiction grows, you'll start buying vinyl.