1. Time for some upgrades in server hardware and software to enhance security and take AK to the next level. Please contribute what you can to sales@audiokarma.org at PayPal.com - Thanks from the AK Team
    Dismiss Notice

Help!! Kenwood KR 7070 Blowing main fuse!

Discussion in 'Kenwood-Trio/Kensonic-Accuphase' started by Jolly72, Aug 29, 2018.

1. Jolly72

Jolly72 New Member

hey guys i was wondering if ya all could help me out.
    i'm a newbie at all this and have just started and would love to add restoring and collecting vintage receivers to my already vast pile of hobbies that irritate my wife to the point of "probable homicide"..... lmao.
    now i do know how to run a soldering iron and a multimeter, what i lack of course is know how and experience with troubleshooting.
    i got this receiver given to me and i would love to get it working again. the problem is it blows main fuse as soon as you turn it on, i've pulled the cover and visually inspected the components and don't see anything obvious like burnt resistors or wires nor do i smell anything burning.
    it's obvious that its got a dead short somewhere, my question is where do i start? what are the common checks to do to find the failed components? how would you go about fixing this?
    again i know just enough to be really dangerous and the only thing i really have are the basic tools, a very vague general knowledge of electronics and a desire to learn . if you guys think you can help me i sure would appreciate it alot.

Please register to disable this ad.

2. hopjohn

hopjohn Silver Face Subscriber