Help me choose a good turntable

Discussion in 'Turntables' started by Ess, Sep 12, 2017.

1. Ess

Ess New Member

Hello everyone, my name is Sara and I'm new to the vinyl community and want to buy a turntable that will last me many years. I have done my research and realized that crosley turntables are bad for your records. So far these are my options:
    • Audio Technica AT-LP120-USB.
    • Teac TN 400s.
    • Music hall mmf-1.3.
    Is there any other turntables I should consider? and what other equipments (Speakers, receivers , etc...) I should be looking for?
    Thank you in advance.
    Edit: I narrowed them to either the AT LP120 or the PLX-500. Should i just buy speakers to connect them directly or should i buy a receiver and a preamp?

Last edited: Sep 12, 2017

Please register to disable this ad.

2. mhjmhjones

mhjmhjones Active Member

What's your budget?

3. mprince

mprince AK Subscriber Subscriber

I would consider a Pioneer PLX-500 given the other tables you are looking at. Also a U-Turn table. Assuming you want to buy a new table (vs. pre-owned)?

4. Ess

Ess New Member

No more that $400

5. Apolek

Apolek Well-Known Member

Welcome! Any preference for auto, or manual? I prefer manuals, and I'm lucky to have good vision and dexterity, but my wife who has ten thumbs and can wreck a steel ball is better served with an automatic. Heavy drinking and manuals can be a bad combo, too... at least that's what I remember from my youth.

6. Ess

Ess New Member

I don't think it's a factor for me

7. Art K.

Art K. The Voodoo You Do! Subscriber

I'll be the first fool to say that you may want to see if you can get a deal on the Rega Planar 1. It comes with a nice cartridge and I can tell you that I have owned nearly every budget model out there and just as the reviewers have said it really is a cut above for sound quality. The retail is $475, however I know that it can be had for at 10% off and perhaps better. It's worth the working out a deal.