Help please AU 9500 repair cost

ChrisAZ

Hello, I'm fairly new to the hobby and could use some help. I recently won an AU 9500 on eBay for $470+ $70 shipping, but the unit arrived damaged and I could use some help replacing some parts and figuring out what to file the claim for with UPS. The cover is significantly crushed in and I think will need to be replaced, but it's a custom made screen cover. The backplate was slightly dented where the ground wire connection got pushed in and the main chassis received a dent. The amplifier is functioning so far and I don't want to return it if I don't have to but I'm not sure how to file the claim with UPS. I can't find any replacement parts on eBay and the current AU 9500's listed are going for $600 to $1600. The amp was insured for $500, my question is how much do I ask UPS to cover for damages? I would like to be fair without getting screwed.

Last edited:
It may not be as easy as that.
No one makes these anymore so you're at the mercy of shipper.
You might be better off starting from scratch.
I'm sorry it happened to you.

You will not find spare parts easily, it will probably be impossible (this model is highly appreciated and everyone maintains it), you can only consider repairing the blows in a metal workshop or by yourself. I would claim the full amount, since the 9500 will not be the same again ...

I'm not sure I understand, why would I be at the mercy of the shipper? Wouldn't UPS be responsible for covering MY repair expenses?

The shipper is in a better position to initiate the claim. But from experience, unless the box itself shows damage from being dropped, and you can take pictures to show this, UPS will usually not accept the claim, and say the unit should heve been packed better. But if you have UPS or Fedex pack the unit and ship the unit, you are usually covered, as you can show pictures of the unit before it went out, and others when it arrived.