1. Time for some upgrades in server hardware and software to enhance security and take AK to the next level. Please contribute what you can to sales@audiokarma.org at PayPal.com - Thanks from the AK Team
    Dismiss Notice

Help with RCA console age and restoration

Discussion in 'Tube Audio' started by Radio2112, Oct 12, 2018.

1. Radio2112

Radio2112 New Member

C91814F8-BC52-44F6-8B71-1775D47A33A3.jpeg 6848E937-24BF-4F99-B9AB-78259AA0E22E.jpeg 5201C03A-6D5B-4A81-8F6A-0197482FDF96.jpeg Hi everyone
    I’m a new member and I’m also new to old radios and getting into restoration of them.
    I don’t know the value of what I have and part of me wants to be able to functionaly use it but I also like the idea of cleaning it up and letting it be a non functional unit.
    I don’t see a model number on it or any kind of date marking, are they typically marked in a specific place?
    I appreciate any info and help
    Thank you

I LIKE MUSIC likes this.

Please register to disable this ad.

2. ToxicTele

ToxicTele New Member

By the looks of the power cord - do not plug it in. The Radio Museum is a good second place to start (AudioKarma is always the 1st place). These units are not difficult to work on but do contain high voltage - be very careful. The amplifier should have a chassis stamp on it some where. You will need to pull the amp anyways to replace caps. Before you pull anything, snap pictures, lot's of them. Have fun, learn, share what you learn and don't be afraid to ask questions. Some really smart folks on this fine forum.

3. Catmanboo

Catmanboo AK Subscriber Subscriber