Hop on the LCD monitor bandwagon

ProAc_Fan

Addicted Member
I picked up a 19" LCD Samsung monitor yesterday and for anyone using a CRT monitor I can wholeheartedly suggest switching. The display is light years better than my old KDS CRT monitor. Looks almost 3 dimensional especially with a good source like DVD. Like all technologies the price point has fallen to the point that they can't give away a CRT and now I can see why.

Mike

I got myself a genuine ViewSonic 17" LCD for the princely sum of US$200 a month ago and for the first time since I started using a PC (1998), I can honestly say that it is a treat for the eyes. No more eyestrain or squinting; blazing sharpness that can't be beat. Plus it's lightweight and takes up practically zero desktop space. Do your eyes a favor, men, and follow Mike's advice!
Tom

I've been using a Samsung 21" LCD for a few years now. I switched from a 21" CRT - a SONY Trinitron CRT. THe Samsung is just as good in every respect, and better on so many others. Screw the people that say blacks aren't good enough and LCD rise time is too slow. I watch plenty of DVD's AND play games on mine and they look awesome. Prices have fallen through the roof that it doesn't make sense for someone in the market to not choose LCD.

The lure of a new 17" or 19" LCD is indeed tough to resist.... but prices are still a bit too steep to make it an impulse upgrade, especially in the higher quality units with 19" or larger displays.

I would certainly consider them if I was in the market for a new one, but OTOH, folks are just about giving away good used CRT's, so if space saving is not a concern I'd rather keep the cash in my wallet right now and wait a short while for the cost of the larger LCDs to drop even further.

hpsenicka said:
The lure of a new 17" or 19" LCD is indeed tough to resist.... but prices are still a bit too steep to make it an impulse upgrade, especially in the higher quality units with 19" or larger displays.