Hot Tub Controller Repair

goat67

AK Subscriber
Subscriber
Hello
Anybody out there who services hot tubs / spas?
I have a 2002 Jacuzii J355 hot tub that will not respond to any button pushes from the keypad.
It does display the temp and it is running the circulation pump constantly.
I do not know if the CP should run constantly or not.
The heater is working and turns on and off when needed.

So how can I determine which piece is bad?

The key pad costs 373.00 the circuit board is 425.00 plus shipping

I have looked at both and nothing obvious is wrong I did find one pin on the eprom on the circuit board not
inserted correctly it was bent out not sure if it was making contact or not. Corrected this no change.

I have found I can buy a replacement pack consisting controller and key pad plus a heater for less than
the cost of the two pieces mentioned above.

So feel free to let me know what you think or what I can try to do to.

I'm not an expert but learned a little on my old Hotsprings tub.

Usually hot tubs are fed power through two circuits. One for the circulation pump (mine ran constantly) and heater, the other for the jet pumps. Have you checked for power on both circuits? If the GFI breaker (or main breaker) for the pump side has tripped, it will appear as if the control panel is not working.

Good luck!

Thanks for the input.

I have power.
I have three pumps Pump one a 2 speed pump 2 one speed and pump three the Circulation pump.

Just check with a local service and they want $220.00 just to show up and diagnose the problem.
They want 875.00 for the circuit board full price and I am sure the topside control will be another 600.00

Arghhhh