How does H-D stay relevant in a changing market?

I don't hold out much hope, aside from downsizing. Looking at their history from when I started riding in the early 70's, there were cycles (no pun intended) when they couldn't give bikes away to when you had to wait or pay way over list to get one. The market is currently flooded with barely used bikes. People bought into a lifestyle that was "in" but like all fashions they go out of style. People would spend in "motor clothes" at the dealer what a decent used bike could be bought for. Those days are mostly behind us.
Harley got way too big for their britches. They rode the wave of popularity that most likely will never, ever return.
Maybe making smaller bikes for foreign markets would be a savior.
I like the brand but would not consider a new bike, since one with 3,000 miles can be bought at less than half price.

Grillebilly pretty much sums it up. I'm no rider, simply because the asshat drivers here keep me plenty scared in my Miata, and it has 2 more tires.

However, I think the whole "I'm a doctor, and on weekends, I suit up in my badass leather chaps and ride my Harvey Davlitson!" craze is on the back foot.

Sad seeing a classic American brand caught in an ever-shifting market. I do hope they figure out a niche, and stick around. We're running out of things such as this.

Love 'em as a motorcycle, and I wouldn't ding their image in my mind if they rolled out an electric bike.

Leastwise, not as much as the AMF Years done dinged em a good un ... <G>

From Wiki (I swear this isn't me!)

In 1969, American Machine and Foundry (AMF) bought the company, streamlined production, and slashed the workforce. This tactic resulted in a labor strike and lower-quality bikes. The bikes were expensive and inferior in performance, handling, and quality to Japanese motorcycles. Sales and quality declined, and the company almost went bankrupt. The "Harley-Davidson" name was mocked as "Hardly Ableson", "Hardly Driveable,"