how much turntable will $100 buy me?

jpciii

I like pizza
I currently have a black plastic crappy Sony (it was a gift from a non-audio person) from best buy or something. My cassettes sound better than this turntable. I would love to have a nice TT, but I can't spend more than $100. Is this enough bread to get something that sounds nice and would be reliable for a few years? I don't want something that needs a lot of attention, maintenance, or tweaking... just want to play records and have them sound as nice as everyone says vinyl is supposed to sound. Pretty much a turntable noob here, so anything you tell me (about turntables, that is :D ) I will learn from. Thanks.

Don't want something that needs a lot of attention?

Buy a Technics SL D2 or similar direct drive in good condition for $20 to $40 and spend the rest on a new cartridge.

I would think for $100 somebody here should be able to fix you up with a number of nice TT's probably for less.

I have four TT's right now. Marantz as my back up to my newly purchased Dual 1229q A pioneer direct drive I haven't tested but seems to work. And last a Thorens 125 MkII that needs TLC. But I'm not looking to sell them sorry. That and if I was I'm not too sure how to ship one of them. I've heard horror stories here about TT's getting damaged during shipping. So whatever you do be careful who you buy from.
Maybe run an ad in the local paper for old stereo equipment. Seems like everytime someone answers my ads they usually have a TT to go with. And most of the time they just need a little TLC. Just a thought.
Cheers
Army

100 bucks can buy you a table that will dust most ceedee players

Not Sure but,

One of these ought to be a pretty good basic and inexpensive table

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=64625&item=5737289107&rd=1&ssPageName=WDVW