How old were you when you got your first McIntosh?

sc1801

Go Gamecocks!
I watched an interesting interview online with Charlie Randall and he stated that McIntosh systems are typically purchased by people after their children have grown up and left the house.

That leads me wonder how old most folks are when they get their first McIntosh.

I'll start first since I'm a Mc newbie.

I got my first Mc a 2 weeks ago and I'm 26.

Well you're doing very well indeed! :thmbsp:

You've got a good ~ 1/2 century of McIntosh enjoyment ahead of you. :beerchug:

Charlie may have been speaking about new equipment? We had our first Mac in our house when I was 2. Dad was in his early 30s. Most of the people we met all had growing families and somehow managed to sneak macs into the family budget. A large number of my generation Mac lovers came from an earlier generation of Mac owners as well, and have gone on to inspire more younger Mac lovers. But most started off with used Macs and then progressed on from there.

I was 45, a year ago. I bought a used MC2100 and traded some other equipment for a C33. Those are my only Mac pieces so far.

34 IIRC. I went to a store to look at a Rotel amp. An MA6600 caught my eye. Never even listened to the Rotel after that.

I hang my head in shame; I had to wait till I was 48 for my first; a C28. Raising a family, buying a home etc, took away all my Mcmoney till then.

I got my first Mac (MC2205)at 55 years old. It's the amp I always wanted.

Mortgage paid off- check. Kids college expenses paid- check. Kids flew the coop- check.

Now I can play my own music as loud as I want- except when my wife is home. I also wear the pants in the family, as soon as she takes them out of the dryer and hands them to me.

Good question, mebbe 50 when the the Mac 50 showed up and unfortunately it's still a pretty doorstop as a single mono piece without a mate. I just like having it around for sentimental reasons I guess, tho' never really heard it do it's thing.