How to explain to sender correct way to pack a turntable

BassKulcha

Cathode Follower
Subscriber
I just picked up a Rek-O-Kut B-12GH—any ideas on how to explain to the sender the best way to pack it so the vintage micropoise tonearm doesn't get shattered in transit? :( Sender says they will be having the unit "professionally packaged at a local shipping company"

I'm a newbie to ROKs (and shipping TTs in general...), but it seems like I have two choices:

1. If there's a simple way to remove the tonearm without disrupting the wiring too much, remove, protect with padding, then wrap the whole thing in palette wrap (and bubble wrap, foam, et. etc.) I'd love to get in one piece and easily re-assemble it on arrival...

2. OR Is there a way to insert some kind of foam padding underneath the tonearm and secure it? Or is that just asking for trouble?

First time shipping a TT, and I've already had bad experiences with poor packing...

Thanks for any insight!

Last edited:
Professionally paclaged at a local shipping company is good news. That should make the inevitable damage claim a slam dunk. Be sure you have insurance.

Professionally paclaged at a local shipping company is good news. That should make the inevitable damage claim a slam dunk. Be sure you have insurance.

:eek: Uh oh, are you saying that I should just *expect* damage? I'd really like to avoid that if at all possible...

Last edited:
I think he's saying that the average "professional shipping" provided by the UPS store or equivalent can leave much to be desired. ;-}