Howdy!

Turnip

Hi there!

I'm pretty new to the idea of vintage audio equipment, but I like the idea of getting something good sounding for a reasonable price as well as the general asthetics and build qualities of most older things.

I've been wanting some way to play vinyl records for some time now and a general sound system for the house, so trying to figure out what I need to get a half decent vinyl player really. So far figured I need speakers and an amp, sure I'll figure it out, excited ot start looking for some deals.

Thanks.

I'm actually from the UK, so if anyone has any general tips for beginning over here that would be fantastic too, still trying to get my modern digital brain around it all.

Welcome to AK, be sure to update your profile so PPl can see your from the UK, may help you meet new people and other such things. First thing is know your budget, next is learn how to acquire things and low budget price for things that are high budget vintage. A thorens Turntable, Some Good British speakers and amps can be had, here you learn what the good stuff is and where not to spend your cash when you could be spending it on something else as long as your patient. Start with what you can get your hands on and upgrade from there, have Lots of room for extra speakers and lastly, are you single or married? because there is something called WAF. things that affect out purchasing decisions.

Thanks guys.