HPM 60, crossover rebuild vs active crossover

HowlerMonkey

Hi All,

I have used this forum as a resource for a while now and I would like to contribute by starting a thread to document my experience with the HPM60's. I found a pair at my local Goodwill last year; paid around $75. After some minor maintenance I was able to get them going and have had fun with them these past few months. They are definitely forward speakers compared to other speakers that I have (CS Model Six, Boston A60, MA Bronze2...). They sound great with some music...they can misbehave with other...I can tell the crossover / tweeter design are the weak links....Before I got these speakers I was already making plans to embark in the dark universe of speaker kits and had my mind set on buying an active crossover to test drivers...I don't have the skills to build/restore a passive crossover, but I have some experience with active crossovers, EQing, mics, bi-amping...I am planning to buy a DBX 234 this fall and do some bi-amping on the HPM60s. Below is a link to a video when I tested the speakers for the first time.

A replacement of the old, probably electrolytic, capacitors in the old crossover should be your first move. If an examination of the drivers shows them to be in good order just replace those old capacitors with some audio grade poly caps. This is very easy to do in most cases, a simple soldering job. You can do it.

A replacement of the old, probably electrolytic, capacitors in the old crossover should be your first move. If an examination of the drivers shows them to be in good order just replace those old capacitors with some audio grade poly caps. This is very easy to do in most cases, a simple soldering job. You can do it.