Hum generated by CD Player

Cabdiver

I have a CAL DX1 CD player that generates a humming sound which comes through the speakers. The hum gets louder as I turn up the volume. This hum occurs even with the CD player unplugged, hooked up to the amplifier with RCA interconnects. If I unplug the left channel, the hum is only heard in the right speaker, and vice versa. I've tried different cables and different amps with the same result. Running a ground wire from the ground post on the amp to the CD player chassis made no difference. I took out the main circuit board and touched up a couple of suspicious solder joints, but that also made no difference. I'm a new hobbyist with a soldering iron and a good supply of ignorance. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I have a CAL DX1 CD player that generates a humming sound which comes through the speakers. The hum gets louder as I turn up the volume. This hum occurs even with the CD player unplugged, hooked up to the amplifier with RCA interconnects. If I unplug the left channel, the hum is only heard in the right speaker, and vice versa. I've tried different cables and different amps with the same result. Running a ground wire from the ground post on the amp to the CD player chassis made no difference. I took out the main circuit board and touched up a couple of suspicious solder joints, but that also made no difference. I'm a new hobbyist with a soldering iron and a good supply of ignorance. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Can you borrow a CD player from friend or family to see whether the problem is with your cd player or your house wiring?

Regards,
Jerry

I pulled an NAD cd player from my office system and plugged it into my test station where the DX 1 has been humming along. Silent - no hum. Good idea, though, and thanks for thinking this through with me. Randy