I have blown it (subwoofer)

HeresWatts

sorry , but long post to follow.

I have 2 Cerwin Vega passive subwoofers that have been around a very long time. The model number is HT10D, and they each have 1 10 inch, dual voice coil woofer rated at 8 ohms per coil, 125 watts rms.

In fooling around with my HT system, I decided to power the Vegas with my old Pioneer VSX 9500S, also rated at 125 wpc into 8 ohms. This is the same unit that the C-Vs ran on for years, along with my Polk Monitor10s

Currently , I am feeding both of the LFE outputs of my Onkyo TX NR809 into the Pioneer to power the C-Vs, while my Heresys and a KV3 center channel speaker are driven by the Onkyo , This configuration was quite a satisfying assortment of old and older gear, until I started playing test tones from Youtube and overextended 1 of the C-Vs, ruining it. I have scoured the net, but cannot find a replacement tor that woofer. The old woofers only markings are on the back side of the cone, where it is printed in white "HG2040"

If I cannot source an original driver, I am considering putting in a Rockford Fosgate P2D2 driver in the C-Vs and running the dual, 2 ohm voice coils in series for a 4 ohm load, same as the dual 8 coils in parallel were.originally.

My cabinets are just shy of 1.5 cubic feet volume, and there is a 4 " round port with an 11" tube attached..
Any leads on an original woofer , or advice as to a suitable replacement would be greatly appreciated.

Are you sure you blew the woofer and not the amp? I don't see any advantage of running a dual voice coil driver configured that way. If you are going to run it from one channel of an amp, just get an 8 Ohm driver. Did you put a meter on the voice coils to see if they truly are open?